Playing with New Yarns

I generally have a few standard types of yarns that I use on a regular basis.  However, every once in a while I like to play with something different. I use mostly acrylic yarns, but will also use wool blends.  Here are a few of the fun yarns I have been using lately.  These hats can all be found in my Etsy shop.

Image

The photo on the left uses a really awesome yarn I found recently in my local yarn shop.  It is called Ella Rae Seasons and they have some great self striping color combinations.  It is an acrylic/wool/nylon blend.  The price is reasonable and you get a lot of yardage.  The top right is Red Heart Boutique Midnight.  This is another acrylic/wool/nylon blend with a touch of metallic running through it. It makes the hats look like they have glistening snowflakes on them.  I found the Boutique Midnight in my local Michaels.  The bottom right is JoAnn Sensations It’s A Wrap.which is a nylon/wool blend. I think this yarn may be discontinued by my local Joann’s still has a lot left.  The plies on this yarn are color wrapped and it lends itself to a bit of self striping.  I may pick up some more of this yarn before it disappears.  It definitely has a nice effect when crocheted.

I will always be on the lookout for interesting, moderately priced yarns.  Feel free to share some of your favorites in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

