My Favorite Yarns – Cotton Blends

As we get into the warmer weather, I change over from using acrylics to cottons or cotton blends.  I find that I like cotton blends better because they have a bit more elasticity than 100% cotton and are easier on the hands.  I have two favorites with the first being DROPS Cotton Light.

Cotton Light is a DK weight, 50% cotton, 50% polyester micro blend.  Now to be fair, this yarn was recently relaunched and I used the previous version which was 60% cotton and 40% acrylic.  I, however, have no doubt that the quality will be the same.  I will come back in the near future and post a new review as I recently ordered some of the new version.  The previous version has great stitch definition and is soft and springy.  The yarn is very reasonably priced as are most DROPS yarns.  Cotton Light can only be ordered through the only US distributor, which is Nordic Mart.  They have great customer service and ship pretty quickly.  I have gotten orders from them in 2 days coming from California all the way to MA.  Right now they are having a 25% off sale to celebrate the relaunch.  They have also introduced some new colors as well. Here is one of my recent projects using the previous version.

My other favorite cotton blend is Berroco Weekend.

Weekend is a worsted weight, 75% acrylic, 25% cotton blend, but you would swear there is more cotton in it than there is.  It is soft, silky and has a bit of a sheen to it.  It also has great stitch definition to it, but I have found that using anything larger than a size H hook does not show it off well.  It comes in a lot of beautiful colors and is pretty reasonably priced for the yardage.  The only drawback is that because it comes in hanks, you have to wind it yourself.  Weekend can be found in most local yarn shops and can be ordered from many places online.  I believe Yarnmarket is having a sale on all Berroco yarns right now.  Here is another recent project, this time using Weekend.

What are some of your yarn favorites?  Feel free to share them in the comments! 🙂

Leave a Reply

