Amigurumi Fun!

The other book that I received from Amazon was, “The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Amigurumi”, by June Gilbank.

The Complete Idiot's Guide to Amigurumi by June Gilbank

I have always loved amigurumi and had tried a few in the past, but wasn’t very happy with the finished product.  I have been a fan of June’s for a while, but I had never tried any of her patterns.  The book was absolutely wonderful with it’s tips and techniques and walking you through the whole process from learning how to crochet, to attaching pieces and embellishing the ami’s.  I definitely learned a few things that I didn’t already know such as the magic ring technique and the invisible decrease.  This book is definitely a great resource to add to my crochet library.

Before I started with any of the projects in the book, I decided to try one of the free pattern’s on June’s website.  I knew she had one that didn’t involve any sewing, so I created the Tiny Whale.  We named him Splash! 🙂

Supplies: Deborah Norville Everyday Soft Worsted (Baby Blue) size E crochet hook

I was amazed at how easy it was and how cute the finished product was.  This definitely gave me the confidence to move on to one of the projects in the book, which were the hamsters.  Meet Sniffles and Dizzy…

Supplies: Deborah Norville Everyday Soft Worsted (Caramel, Cream), size E crochet hook

I had a lot of fun creating these cuties and they really make me smile!  I am definitely very happy with the purchase of this book and I highly recommend it if you have any interest in amigurumi at all.

One thought on “Amigurumi Fun!

  1. Oh, so fun! I have made some Amigurumis with the little book put out by Vannah White’s yarn company. They are so stinkin’ cute! I just love your little whale. I was thinking the amis would look cute as Christmas ornaments – especially with a little Santa hat on. 🙂

Leave a Reply

