First Sock Yarn Project

I have begun my first project with the Serenity sock yarn.  Guess what I am making?  Socks! 😉

Supplies: Serenity Sock Yarn (Spring Fling), size D crochet hook

I had tried a different sock yarn brand before, and I really wasn’t all that thrilled with it.  It was a bit rough and I just didn’t enjoy crocheting with it at all.  Now, I am no yarn snob, but when working with a yarn as thin as a sock yarn, you want something that will feel pleasant as it’s gliding through your fingers.  The Serenity sock yarn is a blend of 50% superwash merino, 25% bamboo and 25% nylon and I love how it feels as I am crocheting the sock.  It is really soft and I am amazed that the wool in it isn’t bothering me at all.  I am not allergic, but my hands don’t like to crochet with anything that is the least bit scratchy feeling.  This does not feel like that at all!  The patterning is coming out great, which I was a little concerned about since I am crocheting a sock rather than knitting it.

I would definitely love to go beyond sock making with this yarn.  It will be fun to see how the patterns work on different projects.  As a matter of fact, I am perusing a group on Ravelry called “Sock Yarn Lovers Who Don’t Make Socks”.  There are some amazing projects in that group.  They are mostly knit, but there are some crochet too.

One thought on “First Sock Yarn Project

Leave a Reply

