Bobbles and Tunisian

I am starting to try some new things as I said I would in an earlier post.  I have a pattern for a Bobble Band Dishcloth that I printed out a while ago, but I was slightly intimidated by a complicated looking stitch.  The pattern said it was easy enough for beginners and guess what….they were right.  As with anything, I just need to try it before I make any judgments on it being too difficult.

Supplies: Red Heart Eco-Cotton Blend, size H crochet hook

The bobbles were actually kind of fun to see them emerge while I was stitching.

I also gave Tunisian Crochet a try.  I have seen items made with this technique a number of times and have wanted to try it.  Joann’s had all their crochet hooks on sale, so I was able to get a Tunisian Hook on sale for $2.09.  Then I searched out a tutorial.  NexStitch had a great one!  I haven’t tried a project yet, but here is the swatch.

Supplies: Vanna's Choice yarn (Chocolate), Size J Afghan (Tunisian) hook

This swatch was made using the Tunisian Simple Stitch.  It’s hard to see the detail, but it has a grid-like look to it.  It was much easier than I thought (of course…LOL).  I am looking forward to finding a pattern that I like and creating a real project and not just a swatch.  I may even just try it out on a dishcloth which is always a good project for trying out new stitches.

So that’s what I have to show today, on my first day of the Summer of Learning. 😉  I wonder what I will try next…

2 thoughts on “Bobbles and Tunisian

  1. I have experimented with Tunisian crochet, and I like it so far. If you look up Carolyn Christmas (designer) on Ravelry, or just google her website, she has booklets of how to do specific Tunisian work; that was my starting-off point, and as you mentioned with just giving something a try, once I got my head into it, it wasn’t as difficult as I had imagined it would be. Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

