Discoveries

I created another journaling card today after discovering how to use my Ranger Distress Inks in a new way.  You can check it out here at the Hero Arts Blog where they posted a video on quick coloring techniques.  The distress inks technique starts at around 4:10.  I have used my inks mainly for direct to paper distressing, but I never realized how I could blend them.  I don’t have the Ranger blending tool, so I just used cosmetic sponge wedges and the results were similar. 

Not only was I inspired by the video, I also have been inspired by the discovery of some patterned paper that I forgot I had.  I recently did some organizing of my paper because I had intended to put together a donation for my son’s school.  During that process, I found several great patterns!

Supplies:  Flower stamp (cut from DRS Designs Flower/Butterfly Combo), Paper Company Studio Clear Journaling Stamp, DCWV patterned paper, Bazzill Smoothies cardstock (Lime Crush, Tangerine Blast), Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black), Ranger Distress Inks (Mustard Seed, Tattered Rose, Fired Brick, Broken China)

Supplies: Flower image (cut from DRS Designs Flower/Butterfly Combo stamp), Paper Company Studio Clear Journaling Stamp, DCWV patterned paper, Bazzill Smoothies cardstock (Lime Crush, Tangerine Blast), Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black), Ranger Distress Inks (Mustard Seed, Tattered Rose, Fired Brick, Broken China)

I’m not sure how this journaling card will be used since I did not create it for any specific photos, but more as a result of my discoveries.

One thought on “Discoveries

  1. The flowers turned out GREAT and they really coordinate well with those stripes. I also really like that journaling stamp!

Leave a Reply

