Monochromatic Journaling Card

Okay, so I finally decided that “journaling card” is the best description for these cards.  After all, that is what I am doing with the cards….journaling on them, even if it is just the name and date of the event.

Before making my next card, I took a little trip to Joann’s today and got great clearance deals.  I picked up 2 sizzix dies that were marked down to $3.97 (originally $15.00) each.  One is a set of 4 squares (1″ x 1″, 1 1/2″ x 1 1/2″, 2″ x 2″ and 2 1/2″ x 2 1/2″) and the other is a set of 4 rectangles (1 7/8” x 1/2”, 2 3/8” x 1”, 2 7/8” x 1 1/2” and 3 3/8” x 2). I was thrilled to find shapes that could be layered onto each other, especially since I have a hard time cutting small shapes with my rotary paper cutter. 

I used the 3 of the rectangles and 1 of the squares to make this monochromatic journaling card…

Supplies:  Autumn Leaves Stampology clear stamps (For the Record 3), DRS Designs rubber stamp (Delicate Flower Background), Bazzill Smoothies cardstock (Currant Sensation), Memento Ink (Lilac Posies)

Supplies: Autumn Leaves Stampology clear stamps (For the Record 3), DRS Designs rubber stamp (Delicate Flower Background), Bazzill Smoothies cardstock (Currant Sensation), Memento Ink (Lilac Posies)

This card will be placed with photos from my older son’s senior prom.  Some of the young ladies’ dresses were variations of these colors, so I jumped at the chance to use pink.  I almost never get to use these colors in scrapbooking because I have 2 sons.

One thought on “Monochromatic Journaling Card

Leave a Reply

