A Return to Paper Crafting

It’s been a long time.  Too long, in fact.  I believe the last time I picked up a rubber stamp and used it to make a card or anything else was October 2008.  I wasn’t sure I would ever get back to stamping again.  Especially after such a long break.  There were even a few times I considered getting rid of everything.  I just wasn’t excited or motivated to use my stuff.  Add to that a growing obsession with crocheting (which I am still doing and I still love : ) ), and you get stamping supplies collecting dust.  I thought about it many times…..how I would get back into it?  I have plenty of cards made, so there wasn’t a need to make something for a birthday or other occasion.   Finally it struck me…..what other hobby have I ignored for even longer than stamping?  Scrapbooking!!  Before I took my scrapbooking break I had started using divided page protectors.  I would load 5 out of the 6 slots with photos and leave one slot open for a mini 4×6 page that would be journaling or some other design.  They are a great way to get your scrapbooking done quickly, but still allow you to be creative.    My idea was that I could basically make something similar to card fronts using my stamps.  I could use stamps that would match the occasion I was scrapbooking about and also maybe use a journaling stamp to add some info about the photos.  This would satisfy both my stamping AND scrapbooking hobbies!  I spent a couple of hours cleaning and organizing my stamp area today, then organizing my photos into the page protectors.  Finally, late this evening I stamped!! 

Supplies: Fiskars Clear Stamps (Twas the Night), The Paper Company Studio Journaling Clear Stamps, Colormates Cardstock (Autumn Red, Coffee), Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black), Adirondack ink (Ginger), Ranger Distress Ink (Fired Brick)

Supplies: Fiskars Clear Stamps (Twas the Night), The Paper Company Studio Journaling Clear Stamps, Colormates Cardstock (Autumn Red, Coffee), Ranger Archival Ink (Jet Black), Adirondack ink (Ginger), Ranger Distress Ink (Fired Brick)

Now mind you, this is a very basic and simple version of what I want to do, but people…come on!!!….LOL….I haven’t stamped in 10 months!!  I am happy I came up with anything halfway decent!  I am looking forward to creating more tomorrow.

P.S.  I should also have some more crochet projects posted soon.  I have many things on the crochet to do list and I just have a scarf to finish up before I move on to them.

2 thoughts on “A Return to Paper Crafting

  1. I think what you’re doing sounds awesome! Will make looking at a photo album much more interesting with these little pages in the mix!

Leave a Reply

