Back to Basics

I was beginning to feel a little overwhelmed with the Summer Sampler Afghan project.  Especially since I am still somewhat of a beginner.  A lot of these squares are very challenging and the thought of making several more was stressing me out.  So I decided to take what I had and make a pillow with it.  The back is just a large classic granny square.  I used an old beige pillow as the “stuffing”.
Supplies:  Vanna's Choice Baby yarn (Berrylicious, Duckie, Aqua), Size J crochet hook

Supplies: Vanna's Choice Baby yarn (Berrylicious, Duckie, Aqua), Size J crochet hook

I thought I might be better off at mastering the classic granny (in a smaller size) and then it might be smarter to move on to the more challenging squares.    Somehow, I always tend to do this with many projects.  I start with the more complicated things, get frustrated, and the end up back at the beginning anyway!  Ugh…someday I will learn…maybe. LOL

I was inspired by the beautiful granny square afghans made by Lucy at Attic24.  Her use of color is truly amazing!  I am using 11 different colors of Vanna’s Choice Baby yarn and playing with different combinations. 

Supplies: Vanna's Choice Baby yarn (Mint, Goldfish, Aqua, Pink Poodle, Cheery Cherry, Bluebell, Sweet Pea, Berrylicious, Little Boy Blue, Lamb), Size I crochet hook

Supplies: Vanna's Choice Baby yarn (Mint, Goldfish, Aqua, Pink Poodle, Cheery Cherry, Bluebell, Sweet Pea, Berrylicious, Little Boy Blue, Lamb), Size I crochet hook

I have been much more comfortable and having a heck of a lot more fun doing these.  I don’t have to concentrate so hard, and one square takes me just about 15 minutes to complete.  Most likely these will become a small afghan, but you never know! 😉

Leave a Reply

