Two Scarves and a Yarn Review

I have so many crochet projects that I want to make, but not enough people to give them to, so I am thinking ahead to craft fair season.  I am planning to make some hats, scarves and toys.  I made 2 scarves over the past week to start my craft fair stash.

Supplies:  Bernat Berella (Dark Taupe), Loops & Threads Impeccable (Topaz), Caron One Pound (Lace)

Supplies: Bernat Berella (Dark Taupe), Loops & Threads Impeccable (Topaz), Caron One Pound (Lace)

The one on the right is a pattern that was featured in Crochet Today! magazine.  Once again I did not pay attention to the fact that if you use a different yarn weight than called for in the pattern, your results will be different.  The pattern is alternating single and double crochet stitches for every stitch and then a single crochet contrasting border.  Because I used a heaver weight yarn (4 instead of 3), and didn’t adjust my hook size, the scarf is a little stiffer and denser than I would like.  Maybe someone will like it though.

The scarf on the left, however, I am totally loving.  It was just a simple double crochet pattern, alternating colors.  I love the chocolate caramel look to it.  This pattern is from the Lion Brand website and is supposed to be a school colors scarf, but I just adapted it for the colors I liked.

A note about the yarn:  The caramel color yarn is from Michael’s and its their new worsted weight yarn called “Loops & Threads – Impeccable”.  They have a great variety of colors and the price is right at $2.99 for a 5 oz. skein.  However I was a bit disappointed that the quality was a bit lacking.  The yarn did have a tendency to split and did not have a nice feel when crocheting with it.  It wasn’t scratchy, but it wasn’t soft either.  There are definitely a lot better worsted weight options that are relatively low cost.  I will stick with my favorites which are Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice and Bernat Berella.

6 thoughts on “Two Scarves and a Yarn Review

  1. Loops&threads impeccable is better knitted then crochet, but it’s best to use one size larger of a hook then it recommends because when that is done the yarn is soft and it’s something you’d like to snuggle. I don’t know if the manufacturer had that in mind or not but it’s the outcome. lol

  2. I have not started anything with this yarn yet, Iam trying to find out if it pills. This will be for young children

  3. I JUST CROCHETED AN ADORABLE NEWBORN HAT WITH A CROCHETED FLOWER ON THE SIDE. I LOVED THE OUTCOME AND I LOVED WORKING WITH THE YARN. I FIND IT TO BE VERY NICE QUALITY AND SOFT TO THE TOUCH.

    • Thanks for your comment. 🙂 I should try it again. It is possible that the quality has improved since I originally tried it.

Leave a Reply

