Child Size Hat

In the course of my hat making frenzy, I am also learning which yarns work best with the looms.  Each of the Knifty Knitter round looms is a different gauge, which means not all yarns will work the same.  For instance, check out this child size hat I made tonight on the green loom.

Supplies: Knifty Knitter green loom, Bernat Berella yarn (Soft Heather, Dark Taupe)

Supplies: Knifty Knitter green loom, Bernat Berella yarn (Soft Heather, Dark Taupe)

The gauge on the green loom (or length between peg centers) is 3/4″.  This is a larger gauge than the Adult Hat Loom (5/8″), and the baby/toddler size red loom (11/16″).  Even though I used two strands of worsted weight yarn on this hat, it came out looking a bit “lacy”.  I have used 2 strands of worsted on the Adult and red looms and had a much firmer knit.  I think I will probably try two strands of a bulky weight yarn next time….specifically Bernat Softee Chunky which is one of my “go to” yarns.  On a good note, I had much better luck with the ribbing since I did 6 rows of it this time.

Earlier today I finished a hat done in exactly the same pattern as the blue one in the post below, only I did it in yellow.  I still have a hat on the adult loom that I need to finish and I think I may make some newborn size hats.

One thought on “Child Size Hat

Leave a Reply

