Knifty Knitter Adult Hat Loom Review

I took a break from loom knitting cuties to try out the new Knifty Knitter Adult Hat Loom.  This loom is supposed to have a smaller gauge than the original Knifty Knitter round looms.  From what I have read, it seems to fall close to the medium gauge loom category.  Measuring from mid-peg to mid-peg is what determines the gauge and on this loom it measures 5/8″.  On the original KK round looms, I measured the gauge to be 11/16″ or almost 3/4″.  A large gauge loom is one that is 3/4″ and above.  A regular gauge loom is 1/2″. 

It says on the loom package that it is perfect for using with worsted weight yarn.  I assume they mean a single strand of worsted weight, since they always recommend 2 strands of worsted weight for the original KK round looms.  I decided to try a single strand of Bernat Softee Chunky.  While this yarn is considered bulky weight, it is not as bulky as some others and is fairly close to worsted weight in my opinion.  Below is a hat that I made on the KK Adult Hat Loom…

Supplies: Knifty Knitter Adult Hat Loom, Bernat Softee Chunky yarn (Carnival)

Supplies: Knifty Knitter Adult Hat Loom, Bernat Softee Chunky yarn (Carnival)

While I do feel that it is a tighter knit than it would have been had I done it on the original round looms, I do think that 2 strands of worsted weight would work better with this loom.  The hat still has a bit of that lacy feel.   I do intend to try the 2 strands of worsted at some point and I will post an update when I do.  All in all its a decent loom and a lot better than the loom that came with the Reader’s Digest Loom Knitting Kit.  Its comparable in size, but the KK Adult Hat Loom is far superior in quality.  I also noticed that the finish is much smoother than the original looms which feels pleasant in your hands when working with it.

Please feel free to post your comments here if you have also used this loom.  I am definitely curious to know what others think.

5 thoughts on “Knifty Knitter Adult Hat Loom Review

  1. Hi! I was searching the internet for “knifty knitter adult hate loom” when I came across your blog. 🙂 I bought this loom around 8:30pm lastnight and I have already finished my first hat. (This was my first Knifty Knitter project.) I used 2 strands of Lion Brand Worsted Weight Wool-Ease. In my opinion, the hat turned out perfectly. My boyfriend cannot wait until it’s cold to wear it. He was extremely impressed with it. I have just started another hat and am using 1 strand of Patons Bohemian. It seems to be coming along fine so far.

  2. The hat looks perfect. I have a knitting loom for leg warmers it says it can make hats too, but i dont think it will fit. Any tips? What if i skip a pin?
    Thanks, I’m new at this.

Leave a Reply

