Yarn Love & A Wee Little Pumpkin

The yarn that I absolutely love for loom knitting is Bernat Softee Chunky.  You probably have noticed that I use it on just about every project.  However, it is getting harder and harder for me to find locally.  WalMart was carrying it, but now only 2 of the 3 local WalMarts still have a craft section.  And the last time I checked they were not carrying very much of it.  Michaels carries it, but they are very, very limited on the color selection.  I have tried some other yarns along the way and they have just been okay.  Most recently I tried the Vanna’s Choice yarn and although it was good, I still wasn’t 100% satisfied.  I noticed on the Michaels website that their stores are just starting to carry Bernat Berella 4.  I went to Michaels today to check it out.  Not only was it priced pretty well at $2.29 a skein, they also had a decent color selection.  I also had a 20% off my entire order coupon so the skeins only cost about $1.83 each.  I tried it out and although it will never reach my love for the Softee Chunky, it comes in a very close second!  I was thrilled at the color and feel of this yarn!  It also worked up very nicely on the loom without any splitting.  I will definitely be going back to stock up on more colors! 

berella

Here is the wee little pumpkin that I made using the Berella yarn.  He is only about 2.5 inches tall.  I gave him to my son for a little Halloween decoration for his room.  I am going to use some of the larger looms to make some for myself.

Supplies: Knifty Knitter Flower Loom, Bernat Berella 4 yarn (Burnt Orange), Bernat Softee Chunky (Med. Sea Green), polyfil

Supplies: Knifty Knitter Flower Loom, Bernat Berella 4 yarn (Burnt Orange), Bernat Softee Chunky (Med. Sea Green), polyfil

3 thoughts on “Yarn Love & A Wee Little Pumpkin

  1. Thanks for the yarn tip! I too love softee chunky it’s in my top 3 favorite yarns, (simply soft being my main favorite) but being multicraftual it’s difficult to find a yarn that goes from crochet, to knitting, to looming. I’ll have to get some of this from Micheal’s next time I have some $$. 🙂

Leave a Reply

