Color Inspiration

I recently started to put an inspiration book together for myself. In this inspiration book I have card sketches and color combos that I have cut from magazine articles/ads. I will continue to add to this book as I see things that inspire me. As I was putting some magazine cut outs in the book yesterday, I noticed some jewelry that was Terracotta and Turquoise. I mentally made a note that I wanted to try that color combo. Fast forward to today and I click over to the Color Throwdown blog. Check out today’s combo!!!

How cool is that! There was no doubt in my mind that I would be playing with this combo as soon as I possibly could. I finally had a chance to sit down this evening and put something together.

Stamps: Stamping Sensations (Flowers & Vases, Everyday Greetings)
Ink: Ranger Archival (Jet Black), Adirondack (Terracotta, Pool, Lemonade)
Cardstock: Bazzill (Lemonade, Yam), ColorMates (Light Ocean Blue)

5 thoughts on “Color Inspiration

  1. Patti, this is wonderful! What a great job you've done with the watercoloring and incorporating the colors into your card! I remember once at a SU regional, they talked about putting together inspiration journals, and I still do that today–little snippets I take from catalogs & ideas I've written down. Thanks for playing the challenge, & come back next week!
    LeAnne

  2. Great card! Great idea on the inspiration book too! Throwdown swatches would be great to print out and put in a book too! I think I might do that! In fact, I think printing out LOTS of other challenges, sketches, combos, jewelry! etc. is such a great idea for your book! We do get inspiration from everywhere and by the time I get to my stamp stable I sit there and can’t think of where to start! A book…..You are a genius I think!

    Love the card…the embossed flowers in the background are great too!

  3. This card is great! I love all the layers and your coloring is awesome! Love the inspiration book idea too. I love it when an idea come together like yours did with the colors. Cool!

  4. How PRETTY! Your watercoloring looks amazing, too! What a wonderful card! Thanks for playing… hope to see you again next week!

Leave a Reply

